Wedding Rectory Glandore County Cork

Hi Stephen and Ray, sorry we didnt get the chance to say thanks afterwards but thanks a million for the music. The ceremony music was amazing. Lots of people were asking us about ye after the reception too. We loved the Vie en Rose. Thanks to you both, absolutely true professionals. Billy and Rita Hedderman.

 

June 2014

 

Fota Island Resort Hotel

We had a lovely meal on the Saturday night. We were happy to eat at a leisurely pace but they thought they were slow bringing the desserts so gave us two lovely Irish coffees on the house. We were happy to call it a night but saw some musicians arriving and decided to have a drink to suss them out. It was a very fortunate decision....
Thought tiredness from the week and the Masters on TV would see us gone in 20 mins. Half hour max. Still there at 12 05. Why? Simple -a two man outfit called Stephen and Ray. 
We watched them move their gear in and noted how meticulously they set up. Nothing unusual there. A Saturday night background group to give the lounge/foyer a bit of atmosphere. Or so you might think. Anyway they start with a couple of instrumentals including Abba's Chickitita and we said "these guys can play" .What an understatement. What followed was 2 hours of superb harmonising and class guitar playing. It was like they had asked me to list our favourites in advance....James Taylor, Jim Croce, Elton John, brilliant playing on Never Going Back by Fleetwood Mac, 3 Billy Joel numbers including super harmonica on Piano Man and much more. We were particularly taken back to our youth by their choice of" I don't want to put no hold hold on you" by Bernie Flint.Their versatility was highlighted by their superb rendition of Rodrigo's Alhambra followed soon after by a little Christy Moore montage featuring "Nancy Spain" and "So do I" .They remained unfazed when one enthusiastic member of the audience started jiving and singing loudly close to them. They indulged her love of Billy Joel with a particularly fine version of "Always a Woman" and I was actually delighted she prevailed on them to sing Eurovision winner "Rock and Roll Kids". I went to ask for their card and tentatively suggested Peaceful Easy Feeling by the Eagles would be the icing on the cake for us on a great nights entertainment. I was hardly back in my fireside chair when they played it. These guys are seriously good . I am scheming to find away for my friends to hear them. I never heard of them before that night but I want to hear them again and again. And it was free. Happy days. Well done Fota. Well done Stephen and Ray.

 

Reviewed by Frank McKenna on Tripadvisor 27 September 2013

 

Wedding Barnabrow House Cloyne County Cork

Stephen and Ray thanks again for providing the drinks reception music at our wedding. The music ye played outside on the deck while our guest arrived  created a fantastic atmosphere and really added to a most memorable day for us. Sincere thanks again Colm and Marie.

 

June 2015

Elm Tree Restaurant Glounthane Cork

 

Had dinner here Saturday 27th March. The restaurant itself is modern and clean, staff are efficient, there were 2 guys there playing a guitar and keyboard, Stephen and Ray, during the time we were there, have to say they were brilliant, they really gave the place atmosphere. I will definitely come back here again. 2 drinks, 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 coffees €65, bargain.

 

Reviewed by Windyroads on Tripadvisor 31 March 2015

Fota Island Resort Hotel

 We dined in the main restaurant and the food was very good but I think the highlight of that evening was the fantastic entertainment in the bar by two classical Guitarist, I think their names was Stephen & Ray, they were absolutly brilliant and played a great variety of songs, if you are in the Cork region you should check them out. I believe they play there on a monthly basis, I would go back again just to hear them. 

 

Reviewed by patsy1105 on Tripadvisor  12 May 2015

Elm Tree Restaurant Glounthane Cork

 

Had dinner with my boyfriend for my birthday tonight. We have been coming here for quiet a while now and each time it never fails to disappoint. Very high standards both in food and throughout the entire establishment. Beautiful exterior and interior, fab decor. Tonight we enjoyed especially due to Stephen & Ray, the guitar duo, the music on the night. They played both old and new music with their own twist and you can really see they love their job. Overall, a place you must go for a fine dining experience with a casual and chilled vibe!

 

Reviewed by Jen M on Tripadvisor 14 August 2015

 

We went on saturday night, two of us. You really need a reservation, we did not have one but the place was fairly well booked and they fitted us in. There were two guys Stephen and Ray playing classical guitar at the bar which created a very nice atmosphere, not loud and easy to talk over them.

 

Reviewed on Tripadvisor 11 March 2012

 

 

If anyone is considering starting a food business this is a must see!.... The atmosphere,with live Spanish guitar with Stephen and Ray, was very relaxing even though the restaurant part of this establishment( also has a large bar and lounge)was very busy. ...would highly recommend this place for a really enjoyable meal and evening.

 

Reviewed on tripadvisor 21 May 2013

 

I went to the Elm Tree last night for a birthday dinner with friends....The bar itself is nicely laid out, no pounding music or televisions were to be seen. Live music by two local guitarists, Stephen and Ray, playng a variety of stuff, very good and added to the good atmosphere

 

Reviewed on Tripadvisor 19 January 2013

 

We visited the Elm Tree recently for dinner. Out of four in the party everyone left satisfied. The music by Stephen and Ray was also good and added a lot to the dining experience.

 

Reviewed on Tripadvisor 18 August 2013

 

Reviewed  18 August 2013

Please reload

Testimonials

  • facebook-square
  • Twitter Square
  • Google Square
  • youtube-square

© 2015 Stephen and Ray Guitar Duo.